Star Lecture

Dalton Lecture -'The History of sp2 Carbon in England'

Professor Kostya Novoselov
Wednesday, 26 October 2016 - 7:00pm

Carbon is a very versatile element. Apart from the fact that it is the foundation of life on Earth and provides us with such different materials as graphite and diamond, it also forms a number of very exciting nanostructures. Quite remarkably, England is very vividly connected to the history of graphite and other carbon-based materials. Starting from the first ever graphitic mines in Seathwaite (Lake District) to the discovery of the structure of graphite by John Desmond Bernal; from a very painful experience with Wigner energy in graphite during the Windscale fire to the discovery of fullerenes by Kroto, Smalley and Curl and the first isolation of graphene. In his lecture, Professor Sir Kostya Novoselov will review the exciting history of carbon-based materials, introduce the current advances in carbon science and discuss the future applications of these remarkable materials.


About the Speaker

Professor Sir Konstantin ‘Kostya’ Novoselov FRS was born in Russia in August 1974. He has both British and Russian citizenship. He is best known for isolating graphene at The University of Manchester in 2004, and is an expert in condensed matter physics, mesoscopic physics and nanotechnology. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics in 2010 for his achievements with graphene. Kostya holds the positions of Langworthy Professor of Physics and the Royal Society Research Professor at The University of Manchester. 

He graduated from the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, and undertook his PhD studies at the University of Nijmegen in the Netherlands before moving to The University of Manchester in 2001. Professor Novoselov has published more than 250 peer-reviewed research papers. He was awarded with numerous prizes, including Nicholas Kurti Prize (2007), International Union of Pure and Applied Science Prize (2008), MIT Technology Review young innovator (2008), Europhysics Prize (2008), Bragg Lecture Prize from the Union of Crystallography (2011), the Kohn Award Lecture (2012), Leverhulme Medal from the Royal Society (2013), Onsager Medal (2014), Carbon Medal (2016) among many others. He is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, a Fellow of the Royal Society and was knighted in the 2012 New Year Honours.