20th June 2017, 10:00am

The 2016-17 Season finished on 19 June with the Manchester Lecture on Manchester Airport and the Lit & Phil Section Committees are working hard at putting the finishing touches to next year's programme. Here is a preview of what you can expect from the 2017-18 Season:

Session 1

The new Season will commence, as usual, with the AGM and lecture by a Lit & Phil member. Come September, it will be member Janet Wolff's turn to give a lecture on 'Art is Social:  ‘the visible meaning of a good picture’ after the Lit & Phil's Annual General Meeting on Wednesday 27 September.

Other Session 1 lectures will include:

Date

Speaker

Topic*

Monday 2 October

Dr David Bellingham 

Art is Social: 'the visible meaning of a good picture’

Tuesday 10 October

Ian Keable 

Charles Dickens – Conjurer

Monday 16 October 

Robert Young

Engineering with Graphene

Wednesday 1 November 

Ian Whelan

Development of new insect control technologies to overcome resistance to existing methods

Tuesday 7 November 

Mike Higginbottom  

Victorian Cemeteries

Tuesday 14 November 

Professor Manjit Dosanjh  

From Physics to Medical Applications

Tuesday 21 November

Professor John Fielding 

Aviation and the Environment

Tuesday 28 November  

Professor Michael Wood   

Why the Anglo-Saxons Matter: King Alfred and the Making of England

Monday 4 December 

Alan Segrott

Mersey Gateway

Wednesday 13 December 

Dr Michael Cannon

Antibiotics: the calm before the storm

Session 2

Date

Speaker

Topic*

Thursday 25 January 2018

Professor Julian Price

Children's Language: how can it be influenced by parents?

Thursday 30 January 2018

Anthony Burton

Lit and Phil Museums: the role of learned societies in the creation of museums in Britain

Tuesday 6 February 2018

Michael Bailey

Railway Engineering - Yesterday and Today

Monday 12 February 2018

Professor Kevin Ryan

Cell Death

Wednesday 28 February 2018

Derek McCulloch & Café Mozart

In the Beginning Was the Word – Singing the poet's song in a foreign land

Monday 5 March 2018

Professor Kenneth Letherman

James Clerk Maxwell

Thursday 15 March 2018

Georgina Ferry

Science from a Female Perspective

Session 3

Date

Speaker

Topic*

Wednesday 11 April 2018

Professor Stephen Graham

Vertical Cities: from basement to rooftop

Tuesday 24 April 2018

Dr Robert Poole

Earthrise

Thursday 3 May

Professor Steve O'Rahilly

Genetic Obesity: why do we get fat and how does it make us ill?

 

* Please note that lecture titles are subject to change and update before the final programme information is released in the summer. Always check the Lit & Phil website for the latest details of lectures.